Scout Comics & Entertainment is actively looking for creator-owned titles to publish

Now - perhaps you’ve noticed some changes to this page recently. Well – it’s because we’ve been getting a lot of submissions lately, many of which are really good, but some of which resemble each other (it’s a phenomenon called Multiple Discovery, where ideas and stories eerily - but randomly - resemble each other), and as such, we’ve been doing a lot of business-type discussion, debate and research to make sure everyone who submits get’s a fair shot at being reviewed and published, and so that no one is left confused or butt-hurt. That said, here are the new, official submission guidelines!

HOW TO SUBMIT TO SCOUT COMICS & ENTERTAINMENT

Scout Comics & Entertainment only publishes creator-owned material! 

i.e. "We publish YOUR comics" — we aren’t looking to have you write/draw/ink or color books that WE develop. Scout Comics & Entertainment accepts only PROPOSALS for new comic series or graphic novels, etc., that already have a creative team attached. PLEASE DON'T JUST SEND US WRITING SAMPLES! If you’re an established professional looking for help finding an artist, we might very well be able to help, but our model is not to read raw scripts and put together creative dream teams.

• AGAIN, DO NOT SEND your script or your plot without any art—it will be discarded, unread.

• THAT SAID - WE DO ACCEPT inking, pencilling, lettering, or coloring samples. We'll keep your submissions on file and may hook you up with other creators if and when those opportunities arise. (But be aware, this isn't what we're focused on.)

DID WE MENTION, Scout Comics & Entertainment only publishes creator owned/creator-generated properties?

WE DON’T PAY PAGE RATES OR CREATIVE FEES. As the creator, we expect that you will have negotiated with whomever you end up working with, and we’ll do our part to get your book(s) published in the best format possible, distributed to as many retailers we can and in the hands of adoring fans the world over. For this, Scout takes a small fee off the books we publish and the rest goes to that comic book’s creative team. How that profit is divvied up from there is entirely up to the creators involved.

A PROPOSAL should:

Tell us what makes it unique and sets it apart from other comics in the genre. It should also explain who the target audience is (NOTE: If you tell us “Everyone” we will assume you meant "No One" and trash it. There is no book that "Everyone" reads...but lots of books "Fans of Epic Fantasy, SteamPunk Mystery, YA Action and Time Travel" could enjoy).

YOUR PROPOSAL should contain the following:

1.    Your CONTACT INFORMATION (name, e-mail address and phone number)

Introduce yourself and launch into the pitch. If you’ve had published work before, you could let us know about it (or even include it) but we're less interested in your resumé than in the book you want to bring to the world.

2.    A ONE PAGE synopsis of the STORY. 

Don't give us a single-issue synopsis—we want an overview of the ENTIRE series or story arc. Wet our appetites and get us interested - but be specific about characters and the world they inhabit. Where will they start, what will be revealed, where will they end up. Why is the audience going to be interested in this series and walk away after the first arc floored by your awesomeness. That said, KEEP IT SHORT! One Page max. If you can sell us your book with a hashtag, do it.

3.    FIVE (5) PAGES of HI-REZ fully INKED and LETTERED ART.

If you have MORE than five finished pages, groovy! Send 'em our way! At the end of the day, we want to SEE what this story will look like and know that you and your team know what you’re doing with regards to telling a story in your chosen genre.

NOTE: If you can provide color pages, our eyes are wide open! That said, you don’t HAVE to (just remember - the better job you do of SHOWING us your vision, the more likely we are to continue the conversation). 

5.    A COVER MOCK-UP

Yes, five inked and lettered pages of storytelling, do the best job of showing us you can tell a story, but a cover mock-up shows us you understand the power of marketing and attracting eyeballs. A striking and intriguing image with an awesome, easily readable logo tell us "this brilliant creator really gets it."

THINGS TO KEEP IN MIND:

"IF YOU DON'T LOOK GOOD, WE DON'T LOOK GOOD"
- Vidal Sassoon

• Sometimes, our experience as publishers gives us insight into how a title, logo, character, colorist or format might be tweaked to increase interest and sales. We will NEVER do anything without YOUR approval, but we may want to suggest changes we think will help increase the likelihood of success.

 

"WHAT WE SEE, SHOULD BE, WHAT WE GET"
- Typcial UI Designer

The team in your pitch is the one we expect to actually produce your book. We understand that sometimes teams change from book-to-book, but we expect that each book will have a consistent look and feel on each page, and that the same caliber of writer/artists will be maintained across your series. 

 

"NO BACKSIES!"
- TAG Gamemaster

PLEASE DO NOT hand Scout employees submissions at comic book conventions. 

 

REGARDING OUR RESPONSE TIME:

We do our best to respond to all submissions, but we do receive a lot of submissions, and everyone on our team has to agree about proceeding with a new title. 

IF YOU DO NOT RECEIVE A REPLY WITHIN A MONTH, YOU SHOULD CONSIDER YOUR PROPOSAL REJECTED. 

We get in touch with submitters that we are unanimously interested in within a month of receiving their proposal.

 

LET'S DO THIS!

After reading the above, send your submission materials to: info@scoutcomics.com

 

Please note we are not looking for any specific genre of character or book. We are looking for comics that transport people to interesting worlds and which are well-written and well-drawn, by people who are dedicated and can meet deadlines.

For clarities sake, please note that Scout Comics & Entertainment only publishes creator-owned material and Scout Comics, Inc. owns no intellectual properties. Accepted or not, your property will remain yours.

Looking forward to making your acquaintance!

 

Regards,

Team Scout