SUBMISSIONS

SUBMISSIONS

Thank you for your interest in joining the Scout Family of creators.  At Scout, we’re actively seeking new talent to bring to the marketplace. We publish a wide range of books and look forward to seeing if your vision is a match for Scout. 

HOW TO SUBMIT TO SCOUT COMICS & ENTERTAINMENT

Please read ALL our instructions and requirement before submitting. 

Scout Comics & Entertainment only publishes creator-owned Work. i.e. "We publish YOUR original, completed content." Scout Comics & Entertainment accepts only PROPOSALS for new comic series or graphic novels, etc., that already have a creative team attached. Please do not submit any work that utilizes already-existing characters, Scout characters or otherwise, as they will automatically be declined.

WE DON’T PAY PAGE RATES OR CREATIVE FEES. As the creator, we expect that you will have negotiated with whomever you end up working with, and we’ll do our part to get your book(s) published in the best format possible, distributed to as many retailers we can and in the hands of adoring fans the world over. Scout splits royalties from the books we publish with creators. How that profit is divided up among the creative team is entirely up to the creators involved.

ALL PROPOSALS MUST HAVE A FULL CREATIVE TEAM ON BOARD. Writer-only proposals will not be reviewed. All proposals must have all the elements from our submission requirements (below). Submissions that don’t contain all the elements will be discarded, unread. PLEASE DON’T just send us writing samples. 

WE HOWEVER DO ACCEPT inking, pencilling, lettering, or coloring samples. We'll keep your submissions on file and may hook you up with other creators if and when those opportunities arise. (But be aware, this isn't what we're focused on.)


SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS 

A PROPOSAL MUST INCLUDE:

  1. Logline. This is your book in a nutshell/ the elevator pitch. Tell us everything in one or two sentences. From reading the logline, we should be able to understand who the main character is and what they want or are trying to accomplish. Something like this:

    A cowboy doll is profoundly threatened and jealous when a new spaceman figure supplants him as top toy in a boy's room.

  2. Cover letter. Introduce yourself and launch into the pitch. If you’ve had published work before, you could let us know about it, but we're less interested in your resumé than in the book you want to bring to the world.  Your cover letter must include your CONTACT INFORMATION. (Name, email address and phone number).  We respond to all submissions via email. 
  3. A One Page Synopsis of the Story.  Don't give us a single-issue synopsis—we want an overview of the ENTIRE series or story arc. Wet our appetites and get us interested - but be specific about characters and the world they inhabit. Where will they start, what will be revealed, where will they end up. Why is the audience going to be interested in this series and walk away after the first arc floored by your awesomeness. That said, KEEP IT SHORT! One Page max. If you can sell us your book with a hashtag, do it.

  4. Six (6) Pages of Hi-Res Full Inked and Lettered Art. If you have MORE than six finished pages, groovy! Send 'em our way! At the end of the day, we want to SEE what this story will look like and know that you and your team know what you’re doing with regards to telling a story in your chosen genre.
  1. A Cover Mock-Up. Yes, five inked and lettered pages of storytelling, do the best job of showing us you can tell a story, but a cover mock-up shows us you understand the power of marketing and attracting eyeballs. A striking and intriguing image with an awesome, easily readable logo tell us "this brilliant creator really gets it.”

VERY IMPORTANT SUBMISSION INFO! PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT ZIPPED FILES. PLEASE DO NOT SUBMIT SEPARATE FILES FOR EACH PAGE.  A SINGLE PITCH PACKET IN PDF FORMAT IS PREFERRED.

 

A couple of ADDITIONAL NOTES:

• Make sure your proposal tell us what makes it unique and sets it apart from other comics in the genre. It should also explain who the target audience is (NOTE: If you tell us “Everyone” we will assume you meant "No One" and will assume you don’t understand your audience. There is no book that "Everyone" reads...but lots of books "Fans of Epic Fantasy, SteamPunk Mystery, YA Action and Time Travel" could enjoy).

• Sometimes, our experience as publishers gives us insight into how a title, logo, character, colorist or format might be tweaked to increase interest and sales. We will NEVER do anything without YOUR approval, but we may want to suggest changes we think will help increase the likelihood of success.

• The team in your pitch is the one we EXPECT to actually produce your book. We understand that sometimes teams change from book-to-book, but we expect that each book will have a consistent look and feel on each page, and that the same caliber of writer/artists will be maintained across your series. 

• PLEASE DO NOT hand Scout employees submissions at comic book conventions. They are busy there trying to showcases titles from our creators.  They won’t have the bandwidth to give your pitch the attention it deservers/ this is a great way for your submission to get lost.  

• We do our best to respond to all submissions, but we do receive a lot of submissions, and everyone on our team has to agree about proceeding with a new title. 

IF YOU DO NOT RECEIVE A REPLY WITHIN TWO MONTHS, YOU SHOULD CONSIDER YOUR PROPOSAL REJECTED. 

LET'S DO THIS!

After reading the above,  send your submission Works to: info@scoutcomics.com 

Please note we are not looking for any specific genre of character or book. We are looking for comics that transport people to interesting worlds and which are well-written and well-drawn, by people who are dedicated and can meet deadlines.

Looking forward to making your acquaintance!

Regards,

Team Scout